St. Francis de Sales Parish was founded in 1883 with Rev. Henry Brinkmeyer as the first pastor. In 1951, the need for expansion and the desire for an elementary school were recognized. In 1958 permission was granted to build. Construction of the church and school building was completed in 1961.
St. Francis de Sales School opened in September, 1962 with Sister Michael of the Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur as the first principal. The student body was taught by the principal, another sister, and two lay teachers.
An addition was soon made to house the first grade and the library. The first lay principal, Judy Hoferkamp, started in 1976.
A half day Kindergarten program was added beginning with the 1990-91 school year. Four classrooms were added for the 1994-95 school year. This area is still used as the primary area, grades K-3. This addition permitted the school to have room for each grade, K to 8, a library room, and the beginnings of a science and computer area.
The next expansion was in 2007 with the opening of a modular unit holding a state of the art computer lab and expanded library. This addition also made a science lab available to all grades.
Kindergarten was changed from a half day program to a full day experience for the 2009-10 school year.
Currently, St. Francis de Sales has 195 students enrolled in grades K-8 with an average class size of 22 students. There are 10 full-time faculty and 9 part-time faculty members consisting of a Reading Specialist, two Language Arts Teachers, a speech/language therapist, an art teacher, a music teacher, a physical education teacher, and two classroom aides/tutors. All K-8 classroom teachers are Catholic. Our classroom teachers have an average of 15 years teaching experience. Six of the nine hold advanced degrees. All teachers are certified by the State of Ohio. The school also offers a before school morning care program.
Our Church was dedicated in January 2013, and our Hohlmayer Hall Gymnasium was added shortly thereafter.